Task Two Part One: Chosen Text

MindMap:17455205_1318784744879356_2130850813_o

Chosen Text:

SONNET 147

My love is as a fever, longing still
For that which longer nurseth the disease,
Feeding on that which doth preserve the ill,
The uncertain sickly appetite to please.
My reason, the physician to my love,
Angry that his prescriptions are not kept,
Hath left me, and I desperate now approve
Desire is death, which physic did except.
Past cure I am, now reason is past care,
And frantic-mad with evermore unrest;
My thoughts and my discourse as madmen’s are,
At random from the truth vainly express’d;
For I have sworn thee fair and thought thee bright,
Who art as black as hell, as dark as night.

Chosen Text MindMap:17499686_1318784624879368_916423740_o

Chosen Text MoodBoard

Moodboard

Chosen Text Treatment:

Title: Sonnet 147

Duration: 1 Minute 30 Seconds

Overview: Based upon the popular Shakespeare sonnet, this animation reflects the story told about a love sick man whose despair has become an incurable physical illness.

Style of Animation: I will be using Pixilation Animation for this short film as it uses elements of photography as well as being the best type of animation to convey the message behind the sonnet.

Audience: The audience that I will be targeting will be females aged between 16 and 25. This is because females are more inclined to romantic notions and so will appreciate the message as well as being the age who will enjoy animations and understand why this style was used. They will be in the social demographic of C2-B as this is the group of whom would spend their time watching these animations as well as appreciating them.

 

Structure: This will have a realist narrative and is an animation. Therefore, there will be no extreme use of special effects leading to a clean cut animation. By doing this, the message of the animation will not be smothered by the use of the special effects. Also by not using special effects, I will have more time to edit my animation to make it the best possible quality it can be.

Codes and Conventions:

Techniques:I will be using animation as a technique to draw in my audience, and then create an emotional response from the audience by using a variation of camera shots and angle to create the feeling of sickness as well as being heartsick. By doing this, the audience will become emotionally invested as well as being able to identify with the character due to there emotions.

Crew and Allocated Job Roles: N/A due to partners on this project being unknown.

Mock Budget: £50

Actual Budget: Due to the style of this project, I have no budget to work with. This could lead me to face various difficulties such as needing to buy materials or rent work space in order to create my animation. To combat this, I will be using college materials as well as college space, leading to having the most cost effective animation without having to spend budget that I don’t have.

Costumes: For this animation, I will be using a nurse costume and a patient costume  due to the theme of the sonnet. However, I may have to compromise on the nurse outfit as the ones you can buy on the internet tend to be more risque than I will be wanting for this animation. However, if I do have to use a risque outfit, I would aim to make it more comedic.

Props: The props I will be using are a stethoscope, a hospital bed and an alarm clock. I’m hoping that by using less props, the audience will focus more upon the message of the animation rather than the other working parts. Also by using less props, there will be less chance of ruining my animation.

Script: My love is as a fever, longing still
For that which longer nurseth the disease,
Feeding on that which doth preserve the ill,
The uncertain sickly appetite to please.
My reason, the physician to my love,
Angry that his prescriptions are not kept,
Hath left me, and I desperate now approve
Desire is death, which physic did except.
Past cure I am, now reason is past care,
And frantic-mad with evermore unrest;
My thoughts and my discourse as madmen’s are,
At random from the truth vainly express’d;
For I have sworn thee fair and thought thee bright,
Who art as black as hell, as dark as night.

Leave a Reply

